eeePC update

Well I just spent most of the weekend installing Windows XP on the flash SSD drive on the eeePC – and now I’m putting the default Linux install back on.

Whilst XP would have been nice for office document compatibility – I was petrified the whole time that XP would do so many disk writes my flash memory would wear out.

What made my mind up for me was that even without Office installed – I only had 900MB of memory left – and this was with compressing the drive. And everytime I tried to do a windows update it would freeze.

Its hard getting away from the evil Microsoft drug but you have to try…

BTW – reinstalling the default Linux OS takes about 5 mins from the supplied DVD – big shout out and thanks to Steve G who without his USB CDROM I would be in strife big time this weekend.

Leave a Reply

